Community Vitality Center Logo

Iowa Transfer of Wealth


The Community Vitality Center has carried out a study of wealth transfer in Iowa. Annually, Iowans transferred $4.933 billion in their estates as shown from an analysis of probate records filed during the years of 1998 through 2002. The annual transfer for Iowa counties ranged from $9.4 million annually for Clarke County to $488.8 million per year in Polk County. In addition, wealth transfer for the next fifty years was projected for each county and the state. For Iowa, the estimated wealth transfer is $531 billion for 2000 to 2049. The projections were based on the recorded wealth transfer during 1998 through 2002, the demographics of each county, and an assumed growth rate of two percent. County data from the wealth transfer study can be obtained by clicking on the county name on the map or in the list below. Each county profile includes information on income, charitable giving, total population, age, and deaths. A summary table for all counties can be found under “all counties.

Click on a county to see more information about it

Iowa counties
All Counties Johnson
Adair Jones
Adams Keokuk
Allamakee Kossuth
Appanoose Lee
Audubon Linn
Benton Louisa
Black Hawk Lucas
Boone Lyon
Bremer Madison
Buchanan Mahaska
Buena Vista Marion
Butler Marshall
Calhoun Mills
Carroll Mitchell
Cass Monona
Cedar Monroe
Cerro Gordo Montgomery
Cherokee Muscatine
Chickasaw O'Brien
Clarke Osceola
Clay Page
Clayton Palo Alto
Clinton Plymouth
Crawford Pocahontas
Dallas Polk
Davis Pottawattamie
Decatur Poweshiek
Delaware Ringgold
Des Moines Sac
Dickinson Scott
Dubuque Shelby
Emmet Sioux
Fayette Story
Floyd Tama
Franklin Taylor
Fremont Union
Greene Van Buren
Grundy Wapello
Guthrie Warren
Hamilton Washington
Hancock Wayne
Hardin Webster
Harrison Winnebago
Henry Winneshiek
Howard Woodbury
Humboldt Worth
Ida Wright

A Catalyst For Creating Real Impact In Real Communities

The Community Vitality Center Board represents diverse community interests, agencies, and education entities from across the state of Iowa. Iowa State University Extension serves as the administrative host and fiscal agent for the Community Vitality Center.

477 Heady Hall, Ames, IA, 50011-1070, Phone: 515-294-3000, Fax: 515-294-3838, e-mail:

Copyright © 2003 Community Vitality Center
This site is best viewed at 800x600 and better resolutions using Microsoft Internet Exporer 5.0+, Netscape 6.0+, Mozilla 0.97+, Opera 5+, and Konqueror 3+. If you are having problems viewing this site, please check your browser version and update if necessary. You will need Adobe Reader to view .pdf files. This page is valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional and is CSS2 compliant

Boone county Carroll county Hardin county Green county Jefferson county Marshall county Polk county Floyd county Lyon county Osceola county Dickinson county Emmet county Kossuth county Winnebago county Worth county Mitchell county Howard county Winneshiek county Allamakee county Sioux county O'Brien county Clay county Palo Alto county Hancock county Cerro Gordo county Chickasaw county Fayette county Clayton county Plymouth county Cherokee county Buena Vista county Pocahontas county Humboldt county Wright county Franklin county Butler county Bremer county Woodbury county Ida county Sac county Calhoun county Webster county Hamilton county Grundy county Black Hawk county Buchanan county Delaware county Dubuque county Monona county Crawford county Story county Tama county Benton county Linn county Jones county Jackson county Harrison county Shelby county Audubon county Guthrie county Dallas county Jasper county Poweshiek county Iowa county Johnson county Cedar county Clinton county Pottawatamie county Cass county Adair county Madison county Warren county Marion county Mahaska county Keokuk county Washington county Scott county Muscatine county Louisa county Mills county Montgomery county Adams county Union county Clarke county Lucas county Monroe county Wapello county Henry county Des Moines county Fremont county Page county Taylor county Ringgold county Decatur county Wayne county Appanoose county Davis county Van Buren county Lee county